Former MP Lee Li Lian will not contest as a Workers' Party candidate for GE2020

GE2020 heating up.

Nyi Nyi Thet | June 28, 2020, 05:34 PM

Lee Li Lian, former Member of Parliament for Punggol East SMC, is not among the final list of candidates for the Workers' Party (WP).

Here is the final list of the 21 WP candidates for GE2020

Mohammad Azhar Abdul Latip

Louis Chua

Nicole Seah

Raeesah Khan

Dylan Ng

Jamus Lim

Ron Tan

Nathaniel Koh

Tan Chen Chen

Muhammad Fadli Bin Mohammad Fawzi

Kenneth Foo

Terence Tan

He Ting Ru

Abdul Shariff

Gerald Giam (Aljunied GRC)

Leon Perera (Aljunied GRC)

Dennis Tan (Hougang SMC)

Yee Jenn Jeong

Sylvia Lim (Aljunied GRC)

Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Manap (Aljunied GRC)

Pritam Singh (Aljunied GRC)

Confirmed candidates, confirmed slate

Among the 21 candidates, the WP has announced its slate for Aljunied GRC and Hougang SMC.

The five WP candidates standing in Aljunied GRC are incumbent Aljunied GRC MPs like Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, and Faisal Manap, and non-constituency (NCMPs) like Leon Perera and Gerald Giam.

NCMP Dennis Tan is the Hougang SMC candidate.

Confirmed constituencies that WP are contesting

It also appears that earlier speculation that the WP is contesting in six constituencies is accurate.

The seats of Aljunied GRC, East Coast GRC, Marine Parade GRC, Sengkang GRC, Hougang SMC and Punggol West SMC will make up 21 seats. 

Former NCMP Yee Jenn Jeong has been seen walking the ground in Marine Parade GRC, and is likely to be part of the Marine Parade GRC team.

The East Coast GRC team will be a whole new team.

Perera and Giam are part of the Aljunied GRC team, while NCMP Daniel Goh and Mohamed Fairoz are not standing as WP candidates in 2020. Nicole Seah was previously seen working the ground in East Coast GRC.

Video preview featured many of the WP2020 candidates

On June 23, a video showcasing 12 potential candidates from Workers' Party set was released soon after the dissolution of parliament.

Some of the candidates featured in the video did end up in the final list:

Sylvia Lim (WP Chairman), Dennis Tan (NCMP), Raeesah Khan, Nicole Seah, Jamus Lim, Fadli Fawzi, Kenneth Foo (GE 2015 Nee Soon GRC candidate), Leon Perera (NCMP), Pritam Singh (WP Secretary General).

Here are those who didn't.

Yudhishthra Nathan, Lee Li Lian (ex Punggol East SMC MP), Cheryl Loh (GE 2015 Nee Soon GRC candidate)

Most notable among the three might be former Punggol East SMC MP Lee Li Lian.

Lee had clinched the Punggol East constituency in a 2013 by-election.

She was beaten in the 2015 General Election by People's Action Party's Charles Chong, who announced his retirement earlier this week.

Punggol East SMC has been absorbed into the new Sengkang GRC.

Image from Workers' Party Facebook