GE2020: WP's team including Nicole Seah to go against PAP's Heng Swee Keat in East Coast GRC

Tough competition.

Julia Yeo | June 30, 2020, 12:36 PM

The Workers' Party (WP) has unveiled its team contesting for East Coast GRC, after Deputy Prime Minister (DPM) and Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat was revealed as the surprise anchor minister for the People's Action Party (PAP) contesting at the constituency.

The WP's team consists of:

  • Nicole Seah
  • Terence Tan
  • Foo Seck Guan
  • Dylan Ng
  • Abdul Shariff

They will be going against the team led by Heng, consisting of:

  • Heng Swee Keat
  • Maliki Osman
  • Cheryl Chan
  • Tan Kiat How
  • Jessica Tan Soon Neo

Whole new WP team in East Coast GRC

The WP team is likely to be led by lawyer Terence Tan, who is the WP Central Executive Committee (CEC) member.

Tan is also the Deputy Organising Secretary of WP.

Kenneth Foo Seck Guan was the leader of WP Nee Soon GRC 2015 team, while Ng was part of the Marine Parade GRC 2015 team.

East Coast GRC in 2015

WP has been contesting at East Coast GRC since 2006.

In the 2015 General Election, WP's team, consisting of Leon Perera, Gerald Giam, Daniel Goh, and Mohamed Fairoz Shariff lost to PAP's team led by Lim Swee Say.

They gained 39 per cent of the total votes in the election, the closest any opposition team came to claiming a GRC outside of Aljunied.

Top photo by Zheng Zhangxin and WP website.