PAP CEC election 2018: Who's in, who's out

Changes at the helm.

Sulaiman Daud | Nyi Nyi Thet | November 11, 2018, 12:44 PM

The People's Action Party (PAP) held their 2018 conference on Sunday morning, Nov. 11, at the Singapore Expo.

In addition to a prize-giving ceremony, the election of the party's Central Executive Committee (CEC) was held, with some surprises.

Following the election, here are the members of the CEC (not according to their number of votes):

  1. Lee Hsien Loong
  2. K. Shanmugam
  3. Chan Chun Sing
  4. Gan Kim Yong
  5. Grace Fu
  6. Heng Swee Keat
  7. Masagos Zulkifli
  8. Indranee Rajah
  9. Ng Chee Meng
  10. Ong Ye Kung
  11. Tan Chuan Jin
  12. Vivian Balakrishnan

Ng Eng Hen and Josephine Teo received the 13th and 14th highest number of votes, not necessarily in that order, and will be co-opted into the CEC.

The two new faces are Ng Chee Meng and Indranee Rajah.

Those elected for the first time in the CEC include Ong Ye Kung, Ng Chee Meng, Indranee Rajah, and Masagos Zulkifli.

Who's out

Lim Swee Say, treasurer, and Yaacob Ibrahim, vice-chairman, have both stepped down from their positions in the CEC.

Both men retired from the Cabinet on May 1, 2018.

PM Lee credited Yaacob for strengthening support for the PAP among the Malay community, and Lim for his "amazing persuasive skills" in addressing difficult issues with residents.

The three other senior members who have also stepped down are Khaw Boon Wan, Chairman, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, second assistant secretary-general, and Teo Chee Hean, first assistant secretary-general.

However, they will remain in their Cabinet roles.

PM Lee paid them a glowing tribute in his speech, saying:

"They are three of my closest comrades-in-arms."

He described how Khaw stepped up to tackle political "hot potatoes", such as the transport portfolio, and credited Tharman for shaping Singapore's economic policies.

PM Lee added that he relied on Teo's "independent judgment and steady support" on many matters.

PM Lee said to loud applause:

"All five have served the party with loyalty and distinction, and for that we owe them a big thank you."

For reference, previous CEC members:

1. Khaw Boon Wan, Chairman

2. Yaacob Ibrahim, Vice Chairman

3. Lee Hsien Loong, Secretary-general

4. Teo Chee Hean, First assistant secretary-general

5. Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Second assistant secretary-general

6. Lim Swee Say, Treasurer

7. K Shanmugam, Assistant treasurer

8. Chan Chun Sing, Organising secretary

9. Gan Kim Yong, Organising secretary

10. Grace Fu

11. Heng Swee Keat

12. Halimah Yacob (Replaced by Josephine Teo)

13. Vivian Balakrishnan

14. Tan Chuan-Jin

15. Murali Pillai

16. Sitoh Yi-Pin

17. Ong Ye Kung, Organising Secretary

18. Masagos Zulkifli

Related story:

Top image by Sulaiman Daud.