WP NCMPs Dennis Tan & Daniel Goh promoted, no role for Chen Show Mao in new CEC

The winners and losers of the new CEC leadership.

Fasiha Nazren | April 12, 2018, 10:57 PM

On April 12, the Workers' Party (WP) had its first Central Executive Committee (CEC) meeting with the newly elected members.

As Pritam Singh and Sylvia Lim were already elected unopposed as the Secretary-General and Chairman respectively last weekend, the first thing on the meeting agenda is to settle the roles of the other office bearers.

Here's what you need to know:

Who got promoted?

Secretary-General: Pritam Singh, 42

Previously: Assistant Secretary-General

Singh was elected unopposed, along with Lim.

Treasurer: Gerald Giam Yean Song, 40

Previously: President, Youth Wing

Despite losing the most number of votes, Giam was promoted from president of the Youth Wing to Treasurer.

Deputy Treasurer: Lee Li Lian, 40

Previously: Council Member

The only other female member in the CEC, Lee was previously the Organising Secretary back in 2014.

Organising Secretary: Dennis Tan Lip Fong, 47

Previously: Deputy Treasurer

The NCMP placed third in this year's elections, up one place from 2016.

The promoted. And the jugglers

Chair, Media Team & Organising Secretary: Daniel Goh Pei Siong, 44

Previously: Chair, Media Team

Goh will be retaining his position as the Chair of the Media Team.

Along with Tan, Goh will also be holding the position of Organising Secretary.

Deputy Chair, Media Team & President, Youth Wing: Leon Perera, 47

Previously: Deputy Chair, Media Team

Perera will be retaining his position as the Deputy Chair of the Media Team.

On top of that, he has been promoted as the President of the party's Youth Team.

The Newcomers

Deputy Organising Secretary: Terence Tan Li-Chern, 46

The Hougang community legal clinic volunteer will be assisting Organising Secretaries Dennis Tan and Daniel Goh as the Deputy Organising Secretary.

Council Member: John Yam Poh Nam, 56

Yam was formerly in the 2010 and 2014 CEC. His CEC term appears to happen once every four years.


The back-benchers

With the exception of Low Thia Khiang (who scored the most votes) and Png Eng Huat (who maintained his 4th/5th position), Chen Show Mao and Firuz Khan faced a dip in the number of votes and placing.

Council Member: Low Thia Khiang, 61

Previously: Secretary-General

Council Member: Chen Show Mao, 56 

Previously: Council Member

Council Member: Firuz Khan, 51

Previously: Deputy Webmaster

Council Member: Png Eng Huat, 56

Previously: Organising Secretary

The unchanged

Lim and Muhamad Faisal will be retaining their positions as Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively.

Chairman: Sylvia Lim Swee Lian, 53

Vice-Chairman: Muhamad Faisal bin Abdul Manap, 42

In summary, here's the complete list of the CEC:

Chairman: Sylvia Lim Swee Lian

Vice-Chairman: Muhamad Faisal bin Abdul Manap

Secretary-General: Pritam Singh

Treasurer: Gerald Giam Yean Song (effective from 15 May 2018)

Deputy Treasurer: Lee Li Lian

President, Youth Wing: Leon Perera

Organising Secretary: Dennis Tan Lip Fong

Organising Secretary: Daniel Goh Pei Siong

Deputy Organising Secretary: Terence Tan Li-Chern

Chair, Media Team: Daniel Goh Pei Siong

Deputy Chair, Media Team: Leon Perera

Council Members: Low Thia Khiang, Png Eng Huat, Chen Show Mao, John Yam Poh Nam, Firuz Khan

Top image via The Workers' Party Facebook page