27 women MPs in parliament, including youngest-ever MP in modern S'pore

Singapore will have the most female MPs in history in the next Parliament.

Martino Tan | July 13, 2020, 02:30 PM

There will be 27 women Members of Parliament following the 2020 General Election: 24 from the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) and three from the Workers' Party (WP).

This constitutes 29 per cent of the 93 parliamentary seats.

PAP candidates did well in SMCs

It will be a bumper crop for PAP in terms of female candidates.

Ten out of 27 new candidates are women, the most in PAP's history.

Five female PAP candidates competed in 14 single member constituencies in GE2020, including new candidate Gan Siow Huang.

And a majority of them did better than their male counterparts.

The top performer among women candidates in SMCs was Tin Pei Ling.

Tin, a two-term MP, garnered 71.74 per cent of the votes in MacPherson SMC against Goh Meng Seng from the People's Power Party, who got 28.26 per cent.

Tin was one of the two MPs who improved on the PAP vote share (6.16 per cent), against a backdrop of a PAP swing of 8.62 per cent.

Minister Grace Fu also did well.

She scored 70.54 per cent of the votes in Yuhua against Robin Low, 44, from the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP).

Senior Parliamentary Secretary Sun Xueling is another female SMC candidate who stood out.

She won 60.97 per cent of the votes in the newly created Punggol West SMC, beating WP candidate Tan Chen Chen, who received 39.03 per cent.

And this is on the back of WP's strong electoral performance, as it secured 50.49 per cent of total votes in the six constituencies it contested in against the PAP.

In fact, Sun is the best PAP electoral performer against the WP.

Most GRCs are now well-represented with at least one female MP, except two GRCs (Marine Parade GRC and Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC).

3 opposition women MPs, including youngest-ever MP in modern Singapore

Three women opposition MPs were elected this time.

They are WP Chair Sylvia Lim, re-elected as an MP in Aljunied GRC and her two new teammates from the Sengkang GRC team -- He Ting Ru and Raeesah Khan.

At 26, Raeesah is one year younger than the previous youngest MPs in the house since independence.

The previous youngest MPs were 27 years old, including Tin.

Top image via Raeesah Khan, Tin Pei Ling, The Workers' Party and Grace Fu's Facebook pages.