Workers' Party Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Faisal Manap to contest in Aljunied GRC

The team contesting in Aljunied is out.

Zhangxin Zheng | June 26, 2020, 04:00 PM

The Workers' Party (WP) announced on June 26 that secretary-general Pritam Singh, chairman Sylvia Lim and vice-chairman Muhamad Faisal Manap will remain and are contesting in Aljunied GRC.

This comes after the announcement that former Workers' Party (WP) chief Low Thia Khiang, members Chen Show Mao and Png Eng Huat are not contesting in the upcoming General Election.

Pritam explained on Facebook that this is a collective decision by the party to remain relevant to Singaporeans because leaders do get old and society's values changes.

These three veterans will be taking a backseat to help groom the next batch of leaders.

Pritam also said that for GE2020, Gerald Giam and Leon Perera, both experienced NCMPs, will also stand in Aljunied GRC.

This means the five-person blue team contesting in Aljunied GRC is complete, consisting of Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Muhamad Faisal Manap, Gerald Giam and Leon Perera.

In the last election, WP successfully retained Aljunied GRC with 50.95 per cent of votes.

Last election, Giam and Perera contested in East Coast GRC.

Top image via WP website