Iraq bans travellers from S'pore & 6 other countries amidst Covid-19 outbreak

South Korea, Japan, and Italy are also on the list.

Mandy How | February 25, 2020, 07:06 PM

Iraq has extended its entry ban to travellers from Singapore, Reuters reports.

Travel ban extended to seven countries in total

This was announced by the health ministry on Feb. 25.

Previously, the ban only applied to travellers from Iran and China, but it now includes Thailand, South Korea, Japan, and Italy, in addition to Singapore.

Returning Iraqi nationals, diplomats, and official delegations are exempted from the ban, according to the report.

The travel ban now applies to a total of seven countries.

These seven countries are at the top of the list for the number of infections globally:

South Korea, Italy, and Iran saw a surge in cases in the past week.

Outside of Mainland China, South Korea has the highest number of infections, with 977 reported cases and 10 reported deaths as of Feb. 25.

One case in Iraq

On Feb. 24, Iraq announced its first case of Covid-19.

CNA reports that the patient is an Iranian theology student in the holy city of Najaf.

Schools and universities in Najaf are being suspended for 10 days.

The student had entered Iraq before the travel ban between the two countries was enacted on Feb. 23.

He is currently in quarantine.

Photo by Agreen Duhoki on Unsplash