Bye Bye, Yaacob Ibrahim and Lui Tuck Yew's Moulmein-Kallang GRC

GRC with two unpopular Ministers disappear.

Martino Tan| July 24, 03:15 PM

It is the only Group Representation Constituency (GRC) that disappeared after the release of the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee on 24 July 2015.

A substantial part of Moulmein-Kallang GRC, which is led by Minister for Communications and Information Yaacob Ibrahim and Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew, forms 60.6% of the new Jalan Besar GRC.

The new GRC is formed from Moulmein-Kallang GRC, Tanjong Pagar GRC (19%) and the whole of the now-defunct Whampoa SMC (20%).

During the last General Election (GE), the GRC did not perform as well as expected.

If Low Thia Khiang led Workers' Party Team A in Aljunied GRC and Gerald Giam fought with WP Team B at East Coast GRC, the team that fought at Moulmein-Kallang GRC was probably WP's Team C or D.

And check out how tight the election results were:

Moulmein-Kallang GRC

It will be most unfortunate for the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) if the area occupied by Parliament House, which is located within Moulmein-Kallang GRC, falls into opposition's hands.

It will also be an uphill battle for the WP to win Jalan Besar GRC now, since the new GRC has absorbed the PAP stronghold in Whampoa, and part of the late Lee Kuan Yew's Tanjong Pagar GRC.

Whampoa SMC

Read also:

Everything you need to know about the new Electoral Boundaries report in 60 seconds


Top photo from Moulmein-Kallang GRC Facebook.


If you like what you read, follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get the latest updates.